Change font size   Print view

Faders in each midi bank move at the same time

Discussion board for ProBox users

Faders in each midi bank move at the same time

Postby kderector » Sun Feb 03, 2019 8:27 pm

HI All,

I am new to the probox, and I have having an interesting issue. I have tried using Sonar, ProTools, 2 different PCs, but for some reason if I move fader 1, 9 and 18 move together.

I have tried using HUI mode, as well as Mackie. I have tried moving around the midi ports to different surface control sections.

I am at a total loss, and I am sure it is something really stupid.

Any insight would be greatly appreciated.

Best Regards,

Ken
kderector

Re: Faders in each midi bank move at the same time

Postby Y-my-R » Thu Feb 07, 2019 7:40 pm

The details are in the ProBox manual, but what you're describing sounds like you have the same MIDI port selected repeatedly.

The ProBox shows up as 4 MIDI I/O ports on your computer (something like "MCU Port 1", "MCU Port 2", "MCU Port 3" and "MCU Port 4" but I'm not sure about the exact name right now, as I'm away from the desk).

I'm listing them in reverse order, I think it's less confusing:

Port 4: That's for the Master Fader (MCU only - the HUI protocol doesn't use a Master Fader), and also for the last bank of 8 Faders on the right (17-24).

Port 3: That's for the middle set of 8 Faders, from 9-16.

Port 2: That's for the left set of 8 Faders, from 1-8.

Port 1: DO NOT USE. The ProBox needs that one for internal communication.

Different DAWs require different setup steps to make this work together correctly. Like, in Logic or Studio One, it matters how you arrange the visual representations of the "MCU" and "MCU Extenders", and you have to arrange them to be from left to right in "1-8, 9-16, 17-24/Master" order.