Change font size   Print view

probox channel displays

Discussion board for ProBox users

probox channel displays

Postby munkustrap » Wed Feb 07, 2018 1:56 pm

finally done.

after breaking my brain to find a nearly professional solution for channel displays I finally have done it.
The very bad news are, that it is very difficult to build it in :-(, so still not a solution that can be sold to you.
But I do want to show it to you with some pictures and the assy of the kit.

The Display kit
Image
http://www.weritz.com/oled/1.jpg

the cutted squares for the Displays. I gave it to a Company. unfortunately it was not possible to cut with laser (which would be much more nicer)
Image
http://www.weritz.com/oled/2.jpg

Some Pictures of the surface after mounting.
Image
Image
http://www.weritz.com/oled/3.jpg
http://www.weritz.com/oled/4.jpg

The PCBs, the channel PCBs Needs to be cutted between preamps and digital Buttons for control. The functionality of the Mic Preamps gets lost, as the space of 48V phantom power switches is needed for the channel Displays. it is the only possibility to build in them at this area, on top/bottom of the faders there is not enough space
Image
http://www.weritz.com/oled/5.jpg

And finally in Action with Cubase :-)
Image
Image
Image
Image
http://www.weritz.com/oled/6.jpg
http://www.weritz.com/oled/7.jpg
http://www.weritz.com/oled/8.jpg
http://www.weritz.com/oled/9.jpg
munkustrap
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 450
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 8:10 am
Location: EU

Re: probox channel displays

Postby Y-my-R » Thu Feb 15, 2018 6:41 am

That is nothing short of amazing, and a major accomplishment! Congratulations!

I wish the display kit wasn't so difficult to install... and wouldn't render the pres unusable. But then again... those pres ain't that great ;) Otherwise, I'd ask how much...

The displays first reminded me of the ones in the PreSonus Faderport 8/16, but after looking at pics, they're very different.

Stupid question, though, and I'm sure the answer is no... but it looks like you have a custom desk for your d8b, that isn't using the original armrest. Would it maybe have been possible to put the displays below the faders and outside the metal chassis? Like, even below the original scribble strip, cutting a little bit away from the desk to fit them in-between? Then, maybe, close the gap by fitting some acrylic/plexiglass over it, to allow to still rest your arms over them? I know that's not the ideal spot for those displays, maybe easier to do...? I'm probably missing something obvious.

But again, congratulations on this amazing feat!!! If you ever get tired of your d8b, I want YOURS!!!! ;)
Dual d8b w/ 2x ProBox for control of 48 DAW channels

Both d8b's fully working as mixers, equipped with Apogee Clock, FX and IO cards

Only one working CPU/PSU (Mackie OS 5.1 hack w/ all PlugIns).
Second CPU is "PSU-only" for ProBox operation.
User avatar
Y-my-R
Registered user
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon May 29, 2017 12:14 am
Location: Van Nuys, CA

Re: probox channel displays

Postby munkustrap » Thu Feb 15, 2018 11:57 am

Hi
you are right, I have a custom table and removed the arm bar.
adding the Displays instead of the arm bar was one of my first thoughts

(see cannel dispalys Version 1)
[Youtube]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gxjuUkMLlTA[/Youtube]

maybe a combination can be done, putting the OLEDs to such an external bar mounted instead of the arm bar,
Connection is only 5V supply and two wires.

the only thing I aready can provide are the expected costs which will be around 400Euros as the material is quite expensive.
So in combination with a probox quite a big amount.
munkustrap
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 450
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 8:10 am
Location: EU

Re: probox channel displays

Postby Y-my-R » Sat Feb 17, 2018 1:44 am

The video is from 2015... wow. You're literally years ahead of me with that idea! I should have known.

But, yeah... $400 for the display kit parts, plus ProBox, plus the cost of the actual d8b, pushes it into the range of other (used) control surfaces. They'll be smaller, but likely won't need as much work to get the whole thing going. While the d8b is obviously still way cooler and gives that nice "serious console" feel, I don't know how many people would end up choosing this path over a smaller, no-work-involved controller. Tricky.

I'm glad you got a solution working for yourself, though! The way you have it working is totally amazing!
Dual d8b w/ 2x ProBox for control of 48 DAW channels

Both d8b's fully working as mixers, equipped with Apogee Clock, FX and IO cards

Only one working CPU/PSU (Mackie OS 5.1 hack w/ all PlugIns).
Second CPU is "PSU-only" for ProBox operation.
User avatar
Y-my-R
Registered user
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon May 29, 2017 12:14 am
Location: Van Nuys, CA


Return to ProBox

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron