Change font size   Print view

External Drive Error

Discussion board for the HDR/MDR/SDR hard disk recorders users.

External Drive Error

Postby Phil.c » Fri Apr 07, 2017 9:15 am

When trying to load up a session from an external drive, I had a message saying something like "Not set up to do this" and in the Open Session Box, the External has a star next to it.

If I move the file from External to the main HD, I can play it, I can't seem to find a way to configure this, anyone have ideas?

Phil
User avatar
Phil.c
Premium Member
Premium Member
 
Posts: 384
Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2008 10:58 pm
Location: South Wales

Re: External Drive Error

Postby Bruce Graham » Fri Apr 07, 2017 1:00 pm

Hi Phil;

What type of drive is it? Mechanical HD, SSD, CF?

Try opening the case and re-seating any connectors.

When the files are copied else where, re-format drive.

Just some thoughts.

Bruce
Bruce Graham
Premium Member
Premium Member
 
Posts: 422
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 12:02 am
Location: Neustadt, Ontario, Canada

Re: External Drive Error

Postby Phil.c » Fri Apr 07, 2017 2:14 pm

Thanks Bruce, it's a new mechanical HD which has been formatted, then files copied to it, they are all good but I can't play a session from there as external, I can't remember the error wording but, something like, it hasn't been setup to play?

Phil
User avatar
Phil.c
Premium Member
Premium Member
 
Posts: 384
Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2008 10:58 pm
Location: South Wales

Re: External Drive Error

Postby Bruce Graham » Sat Apr 08, 2017 4:29 am

Hey;

As I understand, the files where copied to the drive (Y/N)?

If you haven't done this yet, try recording to the drive and see if the drive will play that back? Perhaps there is an issue when the files are copied to the drive? I have no experience with this just trying to help problem solve.

Perhaps there is some missing file that external doesn't have on it? Don't know!

Cheers
Bruce
Bruce Graham
Premium Member
Premium Member
 
Posts: 422
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 12:02 am
Location: Neustadt, Ontario, Canada

Re: External Drive Error

Postby Phil.c » Sat Apr 08, 2017 9:17 am

Thanks Bruce, the files have been copied and are good, it's something set/not set on the external that stops playing directly from there?

Phil
User avatar
Phil.c
Premium Member
Premium Member
 
Posts: 384
Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2008 10:58 pm
Location: South Wales

Re: External Drive Error

Postby Old School » Tue Apr 11, 2017 3:35 pm

Hi Phil,
Have you tried moving all those files to the internal, then reformatting the external and moving them back? Just a thought. At least it might tell you where the problem isn't.

Have a blessed day in Christ,
Mike W.
Wanna make God laugh, ...Tell Him your plans
User avatar
Old School
Premium Member
Premium Member
 
Posts: 233
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 8:42 pm
Location: Elm City NC

Re: External Drive Error

Postby Phil.c » Tue Apr 18, 2017 9:10 am

I did think about doing that, then realised that the HD had already been formatted before the files were added to it?

Phil
User avatar
Phil.c
Premium Member
Premium Member
 
Posts: 384
Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2008 10:58 pm
Location: South Wales

Re: External Drive Error

Postby Bruce Graham » Fri Apr 21, 2017 6:14 pm

Hey Phil;

Did you try a different external drive? I'm sure you did. Just trying to offer up other options.

Seems to me to be a system thing!

Have you tried a different external with different files? Maybe it's that external? If the different HD doesn't work then it points to something else. Reload OS?

Cheers and good luck.
Bruce
Bruce Graham
Premium Member
Premium Member
 
Posts: 422
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 12:02 am
Location: Neustadt, Ontario, Canada

Re: External Drive Error

Postby Old School » Fri Apr 21, 2017 10:51 pm

Hi Phil,
Can you record to this external drive? If so, will the newly recorded files play back?


Have a blessed day in Christ,
Mike W.
Wanna make God laugh, ...Tell Him your plans
User avatar
Old School
Premium Member
Premium Member
 
Posts: 233
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 8:42 pm
Location: Elm City NC

Re: External Drive Error

Postby Bruce Graham » Sat Apr 22, 2017 3:55 pm

Hey Phil;

When your external HD was formatted, was it formatted as a Record/Playback HD or a Backup HD. Might explain why it won't play! It may not be fast enough to be a record/playback HD.

This may also explain why it is "Not setup to do this" and why there is an " * " beside the drive on the list.

Cheers
Bruce
Bruce Graham
Premium Member
Premium Member
 
Posts: 422
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 12:02 am
Location: Neustadt, Ontario, Canada

Next

Return to HDR/MDR/SDR recorders

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron