Change font size   Print view

MDR 24/96 "Circuit board-level issue"

Discussion board for the HDR/MDR/SDR hard disk recorders users.

MDR 24/96 "Circuit board-level issue"

Postby benthecomputerguy93 » Mon May 18, 2015 6:05 pm

It's a long story so I'll start from the beginning. Pause now and grab some popcorn.

About a month ago, a guy came to me with a Mackie MDR 24/96 saying that "it was doing the same thing it did years ago when the hard drive failed". I said Ok, lets have a look and I can probably help.

Background: I am a PC/Network technician at a mobile-home factory and I also run a small PC repair shop.

I figured no problem, its just hard drives right? And on the surface, yes. I began to do research to determine what I was getting into and found that these things come with standard 32GB drives and can be upgraded (along with the BIOS) to up to 150GB. After explaining all of this to him and giving him the option of SSDs, he decided that he wanted to go all out and fix it up nice. So I ordered the new BIOS chip, which installed without issue. I found the "HDR_utilities" package with the automated BIOS configurator and let it run. This too went perfectly fine. I installed the new internal drive with a supported IDE/sata adapter, as well as all 3 of his external swappable drives and it all works great! The BIOS reads the nice samsung SSDs no problem. It boots up just like it did before......

Except for "Error 43: No communication with host". It takes a good 3 minutes or so for the "loading" to complete and this error to display. So I did some reading and found that the CMOS battery could be the culprit. After noticing that the time was in the year 1970, I determined that the battery was indeed bad and replaced it. I then re-ran the BIOS config disk. It now keeps time and all the settings just fine......