Change font size   Print view

I don't have a Midi card in my D8B, where can I get one

Discussion board for Mackie's d8b Digital Console users.

I don't have a Midi card in my D8B, where can I get one

Postby Larmond » Tue Nov 22, 2011 3:37 pm

I didn't get a midi card when I bought my D8B, but I want to use my console as a controller for Logic 9. I have 5.1 installed. Can I syn using lightpipe connection, I have apogee fro the time code. how do I setup? I'm new to this, any help would be great.
Larmond

Re: I don't have a Midi card in my D8B, where can I get one

Postby High C Double G » Wed Nov 23, 2011 2:36 am

Hi Larmond,

The MIDI card has a D-sub connector, 9-pin I think, so it doesn't look like a regular MIDI port(s). Not sure if you know this. Also, eBay is about your only way to get the right one if you don't have one. There are a couple of US sellers that have a specialty for selling used d8b parts and you can try them. Hope this helps,
Michael

PS: oh I just noticed your other question... you can not sync without a MIDI card. You definitely need a MIDI signal to get the machines to link up.
Make some noise!!!
High C Double G
Premium Member
Premium Member

Postby synthjoe » Wed Nov 23, 2011 11:55 am

I think it has to be a MIDIMAN WINMAN 1x1 ISA card, quite difficult to get these days. Check for the 9 pin D-sub connector, it is quite rare that a desk comes without, as it can hardly be used for anything else... ;)

EDIT: got a picture for you...

PIC_0048a.JPG
d8b MIDI card
PIC_0048a.JPG (Array KiB) Viewed 2940 times
synthjoe
Premium Member
Premium Member

Postby FrankH » Wed Nov 23, 2011 8:16 pm

Just to cover the bases because Larmond is new to the D8B.

I'm sort of assuming you're a little unfamiliar with the various bits of I/O and where they are located.
When you say you don't have a MIDI card....where are you looking? On the back of the D8B itself or the PSU?

Are you looking for a pair of traditional 5 pin MIDI connectors?