Change font size   Print view

burnt capacitors on faderboard

Discussion board for Mackie's d8b Digital Console users.

burnt capacitors on faderboard

Postby ilmenator » Tue Sep 08, 2020 11:05 pm

First time post here, I am totally new to the d8b. Located in Cologne/Germany. So I got me a d8b recently because I thought this might be a nice project :lol: - turns out the desk is not fully working as it has the flickering lights and stuck motorfader problem that seems to be caused by the infamous rail capacitors failing.

But, all of a sudden, on top of that capacitors number C501 and C801 on the 9 fader board started to release the magic smoke. First it was one of them, I managed to switch off the board quite quickly, but on the next try the next one became overly hot...
IMG_20200906_172337_kl.jpg
IMG_20200906_172337_kl.jpg (Array KiB) Viewed 1590 times

Though I can probably fix that, I start wondering if burnt capacitors are a known problem caused by/related to the rail capacitor problem in general, or if there must be yet another reason for these capacitors to actually burn!? I can easily replace all these Cx01 and Cx02, but will this really fix the problem or do I have to look somewhere else for a reason why these capacitors get so hot?

Thanks for any input on this!
Kind regards, ilmenator
ilmenator

Re: burnt capacitors on faderboard

Postby Jondav1120 » Tue Sep 08, 2020 11:49 pm

Hi ilmenator,

Those capacitors are indeed the rail caps. There is a lot of info in the forum on the issue, but the essence is that the original caps were (on the affected batch of boards) incorrectly marked as a higher voltage rating.
They generally seem to fail in a low resistance / short circuit mode which pulls the power rail down to a low voltage level and causes the legendary weirdness....
In your case it looks as though the two that have failed have gone completely short circuit, which will produce a lot of current (and heat) in the cap itself.