Change font size   Print view

Many Questions...Where to begin?

Discussion board for Mackie's d8b Digital Console users.

Many Questions...Where to begin?

Postby Dawnde » Wed Jan 03, 2018 7:41 pm

Greeting Mackie D8B Family,

My name is Dawnde. I am a drummer/percussion player by night and Senior Network Security Engineer by day.

What brings me here today is that I recently acquired a Mackie D8b. I got it home and plugged it in and was able to successfully POST. I saw the faders on the board move and was able to get as far as plugging a line into Mic 1 but could not hear any audio. I could see a level, made sure Phones 1 was turned up (the basics.) I did not have any peripherals plugged in at this time (Monitor, keyboard, mouse.) I could not find a way to properly shut down the unit so I switched the power button off on the CPU. When it attempted to reboot it would not post and I received a "System Error 43 - Host did not Boot! Check Computer Rack or call Tech Support." Long story short I did some researching. I went and replaced the CMOS battery as well as grabbed a monitor and connected it to the CPU so I could see the POST output. It appears that the hard drive is not being seen. I did the needful. I reseated the power, ribbon cables, tried the other IDE channel and still nothing. The next step is to pull the drive and see if I can connect to it using a laptop. My goal is to copy what ever information (5.1 upgrade folder (as I have red in other posts) and then I was going to obtain a 4GB CF from eBay.

So far my experience with this unit has not gone over so well. I am also reaching out to ebay and acquiring the PS/2 mouse, keyboard and the MIDI to PS/2 adapter. I have zero documentation with this unit. However, thanks to this forum it can be obtained. I was going to reach out to the manufacturer with my S/N to see if they will provide any other information based upon S/N (pass keys or activation numbers needed for the unit.)