Change font size   Print view

processors, 300 or 433

Discussion board for Mackie's d8b Digital Console users.

processors, 300 or 433

Postby funk » Thu Aug 31, 2017 8:39 pm

Hi All,
may be of use to someone,
was doing some testing today.
i have two d8bs
one running a 300mhz
and the other running 433mhz
both boards look the same CB50 BX REV A.
Except the 433 has green tracks, and the 300 is gold.
both Bios on screen is the same. tho bios chips are different,
so thought i would give it a go..
I swapped over the processors and bang both run the same.
looking at the dip switch settings in the manual for the board and it is saying they are different for the 300 processor than 433, but on both my motherboards thay are the same, same as the setting in the manual for the 300,( up, down, up, down)
so... if i had these jumpers set at 300 and used a 433 processor would my d8b still run at 300 regardless ?
The bootup screen states "433"
has anyone done this ?
anything i should lookout for ?
All being good then....
Then there is an option for the 300 if you cant get one as there seems more 433s about
i know they used them in the later hdr
quick check found a guy on ebay with loads of them with the same code only 9.95 each.....( not me by the way)
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/1-x-Intel-Cel ... _547wt_975

here is my 433
IMG_1357.jpg
IMG_1357.jpg (Array KiB) Viewed 112 times


Here is my 300
IMG_1359.jpg
IMG_1359.jpg (Array KiB) Viewed 112 times


Your thoughts ??
Last edited by funk on Fri Sep 01, 2017 1:42 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Never drive faster than your guardian angel can fly!
"Funk is what you dont play"........GREAT.....im off to the pub then,
User avatar
funk
Registered user
 
Posts: 133
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2012 1:58 am

Re: processors, 300 or 433

Postby anyhorizon » Fri Sep 01, 2017 7:09 am

No functional difference. Just what was available at the time. Both a little quicker than the 166 MHz.

Peter
In the scheme of things, there isn't one... just chaos.
User avatar
anyhorizon
Premium Member
Premium Member
 
Posts: 1052
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2008 9:36 pm
Location: Down under or up over, depending on where in space you are.

Re: processors, 300 or 433

Postby funk » Fri Sep 01, 2017 1:12 pm

Cheers Peter,
thought as much, so no need to change the dip switches ?
Never drive faster than your guardian angel can fly!
"Funk is what you dont play"........GREAT.....im off to the pub then,
User avatar
funk
Registered user
 
Posts: 133
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2012 1:58 am

Re: processors, 300 or 433

Postby anyhorizon » Fri Sep 01, 2017 8:59 pm

Crash or Frank may be better answering that. I have a 300 and never messed with the dip switches.

Peter
In the scheme of things, there isn't one... just chaos.
User avatar
anyhorizon
Premium Member
Premium Member
 
Posts: 1052
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2008 9:36 pm
Location: Down under or up over, depending on where in space you are.

Re: processors, 300 or 433

Postby salvaes » Fri Sep 01, 2017 10:12 pm

I tried with several different processor configurations and the one that was better was a 500mhz celeron.
Macpro 12cores ,logic Pro ,RME Octamic2 X4 ,forusrite ISA , apogee DA16X ,
Antelope orion studio - apogee psx100 - TLA CLASSIC VALVE SERIES - SPL GOLDMIKE - Focal twin 6be, Adam A7x ,Mackie d8b
User avatar
salvaes
Premium Member
Premium Member
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 10:52 am

Re: processors, 300 or 433

Postby arjepsen » Sat Sep 02, 2017 1:15 am

In my HDR I replaced the cpu with a pentium III (using a kind of socket adapter).
No matter which way I set the dip switches, the reporting of the mhz is the same.
While it did help me in lowering the temperatures in the HDR, I wonder if anyone has experienced any advantage of faster processors - particularly in the d8b?
arjepsen
Premium Member
Premium Member
 
Posts: 114
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2014 9:10 pm

Re: processors, 300 or 433

Postby funk » Sat Sep 02, 2017 1:43 am

salvaes wrote:I tried with several different processor configurations and the one that was better was a 500mhz celeron.

Hi sal,
did you change any of the dip switches as well ?
how was it better ?

I noticed that you can get celeron 850mhz that will fit a socket 370,
any advantage in doing this ?
Last edited by funk on Sat Sep 02, 2017 2:13 am, edited 1 time in total.
Never drive faster than your guardian angel can fly!
"Funk is what you dont play"........GREAT.....im off to the pub then,
User avatar
funk
Registered user
 
Posts: 133
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2012 1:58 am

Re: processors, 300 or 433

Postby funk » Sat Sep 02, 2017 2:06 am

arjepsen wrote:In my HDR I replaced the cpu with a pentium III (using a kind of socket adapter).
No matter which way I set the dip switches, the reporting of the mhz is the same.
While it did help me in lowering the temperatures in the HDR, I wonder if anyone has experienced any advantage of faster processors - particularly in the d8b?


i know there is vents at the front of the case, but always found it odd that the main case not the power supply section, just the bit with the main board had no fan, maybe mackie thought it does not get that hot in there that it would need one to add to the already noise the case creates ?
i dont think mine gets hot inside, and the boards do seem to last.

faster proceessors, thats what im wondering also.
in fairness it does run great as is,
Never drive faster than your guardian angel can fly!
"Funk is what you dont play"........GREAT.....im off to the pub then,
User avatar
funk
Registered user
 
Posts: 133
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2012 1:58 am

Re: processors, 300 or 433

Postby arjepsen » Sat Sep 02, 2017 2:16 am

Actually, for my d8b, I changed the computer psu with a more effecient and quiet one from BeQuiet.
This had the unforseen consequence, that now the whole power supply section - not the motherboard/cpu/computer-parts - overheats....
Actually, after installing a bigger heatsink and a 80mm fan on the cpu on the motherboard, that parts just gets slightly warm.
I've actually had to install extra fans in the power supply section, to have enough cooling there... Particularly there's a transformer in there that gets VERY hot...
arjepsen
Premium Member
Premium Member
 
Posts: 114
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2014 9:10 pm

Re: processors, 300 or 433

Postby Crash » Tue Sep 05, 2017 6:19 pm

anyhorizon wrote:Crash or Frank may be better answering that. I have a 300 and never messed with the dip switches.

Peter


I used to know what the settings were by memory but unfortunately time has erased this info from my brain.

Isn't the manual for the Amptron 9800 in the database?
User avatar
Crash
Premium Member
Premium Member
 
Posts: 1039
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2008 10:05 pm

Next

Return to d8b Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests